According to data published by the Commonwealth Government*, these were  Australia's top greenhouse gas emitters (in tonnes of cabon dioxide equivalent) in 2008-09. Nine out of the top ten operate coal-fired power stations and five of the top ten are owned by State governments.

  1. Macquarie Generation: 25,290,141 t CO2-e
    owned by the NSW Government, operates Liddell and Bayswater power stations
  2. Delta Electricity: 22,232,799 t CO2-e
    owned by the NSW Government, operates Mt Piper, Wallerawang, Colongra, Vales Point and Munmorah power stations.
  3. Great Energy Alliance Corporation: 18,9627,61 t CO2-e
    major shareholders are AGL and Tokyo Electric Power, operates Loy Yang A power station
  4. International Power: 17,968,483 t CO2-e
    owned by a UK-based multinational, operates Hazelwood and other power stations
  5. C S Energy: 16,629,397 t CO2-e
    owned  by the Queensland Government, operates Kogan Creek, Swanbank, Mica Creek and Callide power stations
  6. TRUenergy: 15,8261,83 t CO2-e
    owned by the CLP Group, a Hong Kong based multinational, operates Yallourn, Tallawarra and Hallett power stations
  7. Eraring Energy: 15254417 t CO2-e
    owned by the NSW Government, operates Eraring power station
  8. Electricity Generation Corporation (trading as Verve Energy): 10,965,617 t CO2-e
    owned by the Western Australian Government, operates Muja, Collie, Kwinana, Cockburn and Pinjar power stations
  9. Loy Yang Holdings (trading as International Power Mitsui): 10,139,886 t CO2-e
    owned by UK and Japanese multinationals, International Power and Mitsui, operates Loy Yang B and Kwinana power stations
  10. Woodside Petroleum: 8,198,156 t CO2-e
    Australian company, operates the North West Shelf gas project
  11. Babcock & Brown Power: 8,043,697 t CO2-e
  12. NRG Victoria: 8,019,597 t CO2-e
  13. Bluescope Steel: 7,950,396 t CO2-e
  14. Rio Tinto: 7,624,540 t CO2-e
  15. Tarong Energy (Queensland Government): 6,714,430 t CO2-e
  16. Stanwell Corporation (Queensland Government): 7,277,109 t CO2-e
  17. Alcoa: 6,851,770 t CO2-e
  18. AZSA Holdings (t/a Xtrata Coal): 6,553,487 t CO2-e
  19. BHP Billiton: 5,061,340 t CO2-e
  20. Qantas: 4,007,170 V= t CO2-e

* Publication of Data under Section 24 of the National Greenhouse and Energy Reporting Act 2007