The New South Wales government has changed its Solar Bonus Scheme, due to come into effect on 1 January 2010, from a net feed-in tariff model to a gross feed-in tariff.

Under the new version, householders who generate solar electricity will receive a premium payment for all of the electricity they generate, including the electricity which they use themselves. Under the previous model, householders would have been paid the premium rate only for the surplus generated  above the amount that they used.

The Australian Capital Territory is the only other Australian State or territory with a gross feed-in tariff. ACT residents currently recieve 50.05 cents per kilowat hour (calculated as 3.88 times the retail price of electricity) for twenty years after they join the scheme. The rate in New South Wales will be 60 cents per kilowatt hour for seven years after they join the scheme.