The Australian Government has announced the eight projects which it has shortlisted under under Round One of its Solar Flagships program.

In the first round of the $1.5 billion federal grant program, two large-scale solar power plants, with a total capacity of about 400 megawatts, are to be built. "Round Two" of the program is planned for 2013-14. That phase is expected to focus on promising solar technologies that are ”not quite demonstration-ready’".

52 proposals were received for Round One and the following eight have been shortlisted and will share up to $15 million in funding for further feasibility studies:

  • AGL Energy for a multi-site project using thin film cadmium telluride solar photovoltaic technology generating up to150MW at multiple sites across Australia including ACT, NSW, Victoria, Queensland, and South Australia;
  • TRUenergy for a single site near Mildura, using thin film cadmium telluride solar photovoltaic technology to generate up to 180MW;
  • Infigen/Suntech for a crystalline silicon solar photovoltaic technology at up to three sites in New South Wales or Victoria to generate up to 195MW;
  • BPSolar for a single axis tracking photovoltaic system to generate 150MW from plants constructed at several locations in New South Wales;
  • ACCIONA Energy Oceania for a 200MW solar thermal parabolic trough system at a single site in either Queensland or South Australia;
  • Parsons Brinckerhoff for a 150MW solar thermal parabolic trough power station at Kogan Creek in Queensland;
  • Wind Prospect CWP for a 250MW linear fresnel system at Kogan Creek in Queensland; and
  • Transfield to convert the Collinsville coal-fired power station in Queensland into a 150MW solar thermal linear fresnel power plant.